ESG Matters Presents

ESG People
of The Year

Announcing the

Across the environmental, social and governance communities, who matters? We present the #ESGPeopleOfTheYear — the most influential leaders in ESG.

Traditionally, recognition awards assess nominees using human judge panels. While there are normally assessment criteria that the judges can follow, oftentimes the judges still have to use their own professional judgement.

In view of the above and with innovation and progress in mind, ESG Matters has designed a computation-based framework, a lens that uses a taxonomy of environmental, social and governance related aspects, for the nomination and selection of the Top 50 ESG People of the Year 2020. 


Integrating this taxonomical lens to produce outcomes from search engines and taking into account factors such as authority on social networks, the top fifty #WhoMattersInESG people were selected from all around the globe.

Based around the taxonomy, these selected individuals drive ideas and promote change and positively-disruptive innovations within the ESG sector. The constituents are composed of people that are not only from the asset management and financial institutions, but also extends to individuals from real estate, the sports fashion industry, the fast moving consumer goods industry, and more.

Here is the list of Top 50 ESG People of the Year in alphabetical order:

Name Title Company
Abbie Llewellyn-Waters
Fund Manager
Jupiter Assest Management
Afsaneh Parvizi Wayne
Alexandra Palt
Executive Vice President
Amie Lai
Senior Sustainable Development Manager
Swire Properties
Angela K. Mwanza
Senior Vice President - Evergreen Wealth Management
Annie Chen
RS Group Asia
Bridget Croke
Managing Director
Closed Loop Partners
Cathy Combs
Director of Sustainability
Eastman Chemcial Company
Cathy Runciman
Atlas of the Future
Cecilia Repinski
Chief Executive Officer
Green Asset Wallet
Claire Bergkamp
WW Sustainability & Innovation Director
Stella McCartney
Deirdre Cooper
Co-Head, Thematic Equity
Ninety One
Elaine Strunk
Director, Global Sustainability (Restaurant and Non-food)
Elena Tedesco
Federated Hermes
Ellie Tang
Head of Sustainability
New World Development Company Limited
Emily Chew
Global Head of Sustainability for Investment Management
Morgon Stanley
Eshita Kabra-Davies
By Rotation
Esther Speck
Vice President, Global Sustainability and Social Impact
Flora Wang
Director, Sustainable Investing
Fidelity International
Harriet Parker
Partner, Investment Manager
Liontrust Asset Management PLC
Helen Clarkson
Chief Executive Officer
The Climate Group
Jane Ambachtsheer
Global Head of Sustainability
BNP Paribas Asset Management
Janice Lao
Director - Group Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability
Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels Group
Jennifer Silberman
VP, Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG)
Jessica Sansom
Sustainability Strategy
Karine Hirn
East Capital
Kate Brandt
Sustainability Officer
Kate Wylie
Global Vice President of Sustainability
Kristina Kloberdanz
SVP, Chief Sustainability Officer
Laura Palmeiro
Senior Advisor
United Nations Global Compact
Lindsay Patrick
Managing Director & Head, Sustainable Finance
RBC Capital Markets
Lucy Shea
Group Chief Executive Officer
Margarita Pirovska
Head of Fiduciary Duty in the 21st Century
Principles for Responsible Investment
Marie de Muizon
Sustainability Integration Director
Marina Mansilla Hermann
Chief of Staff to Ms. Christiana Figueres
Global Opitism
Marissa Pagnani McGowan
Senior Vice President, Corporate Responsibility
PVH Corp.
Marlo Tablante
Director, Corporate Social Responsibility
Ascena Retail Group, Inc.
Megan Schleck
Founding team
Michelle Mak
Leader of Partnerships, Alliances, Enterprise Learning and Customer Education
Dun & Bradstreet
Miki Morimoto
Director, AP, Social & Community Impact
Paloma Lopez
Future Fit Foods
Pam Alabaster
Head of Global Sustainability
Mattel, Inc.
Pelle Pedersen
Chief Impact & Growth
Rebecca Chesworth
Head of Equity Strategies
State Street SPDR ETFs
Robert Rubinstein
Chairman & Founder
TBLI Group Holdings B.V.
Sarah Butler-Sloss
Founder Director
Sue Noffke
Head of UK Equities
Suzanne Cheung
Head of Sustainability
Swire Coca-Cola HK
Virginie Helias
Non-Executive Director / Chairman of the Sustainability Committee